January wrap-up

I’ll get back to Cambodia soon, but this month has been a doozy!

It’s crazy to think that we started out here:

IMG_1819
Khao Lak – Bangsak Beach

And closed on this note:

IMG_2019
Weekday skiing at Copper Mountain – it doesn’t get much better than this!

While these moments bookmark a seemingly bipolar month, from tropical beaches to snowy mountains, probably the most significant aspect of the month is the sense that we are FINALLY settling down in Boulder.  I realize that we moved from California to Boulder back in June, but from June until now, everything was temporary (I realize that philosophically and poetically, everything IS temporary – except time, ha ha), and I did not feel that I could call Boulder or any place “home” as we had boxes, furniture and other possessions scattered throughout a storage locker, a friend’s basement and our own living space, not to mention the car which seemingly served as a storage bin for plenty of items too.

In the past few weeks, we have taken quite a number of steps towards making Boulder our home – we’ve unpacked quite a few possessions, are cooking in a kitchen (that, to me, is one of the greatest comforts), and I’ve even lined up a long-term sub job starting in March at a local school.  While there are plenty of gaps in our would-be life, it’s nice to fit some of the pieces together.

And a few other highlights from the month:

IMG_2039
Just showing off Bronco pride by throwing a blanket over a statue.
  • The Broncos are headed to the Superbowl (that’s sort of plus/minus because Cam Newton is a beast and I’m not sure that Denver has much of a chance);
  • We’ve managed to fit in 5 ski days within 15 days – that’s an accomplishment! We are trying to make the most of the ski pass that we bought back in the fall when we knew that we’d be unemployed and have the time to hit the slopes;
  • Lots of great books – I finally finished Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel and am almost through Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan series.  I’m also making my way through Harry Potter for the umpteenth time, since we were housesitting and I started to read Book 3 again, which led me to 4 and 5…
  • I celebrated another birthday – I’m still closer to 30 than I am to 60, but not by much!

As I look to February, we plan to ski as much as we can, and I am back on swim/bike/run base training.  I’ll talk more about that at some point, but at this point, It. Is. PAINFUL.

On a more positive note, I have been pleased that my ski form improved quite a bit in Zermatt, and I am continuing to focus on carving!  We skied two long days in a row last week, and my legs were totally trashed, but it was amazingly fun.  Honestly, I don’t think that there is another activity that I love as much as skiing.  I did, however, realize that I tend to participate in sports that require changing in the car – what is with me?!  Maybe one of these days I’ll find a different activity that doesn’t require putting on or taking off clothes in public areas?

 

2 thoughts on “January wrap-up

Leave a Reply

